The Member representing Itsekiri nationality on the Board of the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission, DESOPADEC, Chief Ereyitomi Thomas has formally handed over the keys to an 18-seater air-conditioned Toyota Hi-Ace Bus each to three secondary schools in its mandate area. The benefiting schools include Erejuwa Grammar School, Ode-Itsekiri, popularly known as

Big Warri in Warri South LGA, Iwere College, Koko in Warri North LGA and Ogidigben Grammar School, Ogidigben in Warri South West LGA, respectively.


Handing over the keys and particulars of the vehicles to the Principals of the various schools, the DESOPADEC Commissioner stated that the gesture, which was essentially to ease the transportation challenge of staff and students of the institutions, was in line with the human capital empowerment vision of the new board. He assured the schools and others yet to benefit from the largesse of more goodies from the Commission to make teaching and learning a worthy experience for all.

In their response, the Principals expressed great delight at the timely, relevant and worthy donation and thanked the Commission for the robust gesture on the part of DESOPADEC, promising to make good use of the facility.

In the same vein, some youth and community leaders present at the ceremony expressed appreciation to the Commission and the uncommon initiative of the Itsekiri Commissioner, Chief Ereyitomi Thomas, in remembering the schools in their many challenges. They said the gesture would certainly go a long way in alleviating the transportation problems faced by staff and students of the benefiting schools. They also pleaded with the Commission to further assist them in sundry areas like the provision of motorized boats especially for schools locates in the coastal areas, science laboratories, ICT centres, well stocked library, generating sets, furnishing of staff quarters, chairs and desks for staff and students, lawn mowers, etc.

Present at the brief ceremony were the DESOPADEC Commissioner, Chief Ereyitomi Thomas, Mr. Urowayino, Principal, Erejuwa Grammar School, Ode-Itsekiri (Big Warri), Mrs. Agnes Iyabo Enukpere, Principal, Iwere College, Koko, Mr. Folorunsho Omatuyine, Principal, Ogidigben Grammar School, Ogidigben, Mr. Emmanuel Nunu, Special Assistant to the Commissioner, some staff members of the schools as well as youth and community leaders.

Last modified on Friday, 15 April 2016 13:13